Lets talk about flight suits please BLUE nomex or BLUE coverall preferably.

Started by Blues Brother, September 26, 2012, 12:20:44 AM

Blues Brother

OK I am a newbie here and I am looking at buying a flight suit and I would appreciate some suggestions of folks here that have them.  I am inclined to buy the blue nomex flight suit you can buy here

http://www.vanguardmil.com/civil-air-patrol-uniform-flame-resistant-flight-suit-navy-blue-p-7716.html  they are around $250

I see they also offer a non nomex version coverall similar to that blue nomex suit. and I see they offer those for around $44 or so, considerably less but not fire resistant. 

has anyone had any experiences with either of these?   I kinda feel a bit out of sorts wearing the sage green AF style suit as I think that should be reserved for members or veterans of our military out of respect to them. I just dont feel like I deserve to wear the sage green.  the members of our military deserve that respect IMO.  so thats why I am interested in the blue suits.   I have never seen anyone with the blue nomex suit.  I cant even find any real pictures of them.    has anyone here ever worn them or had any experience with them?   what about that coveral suit?  do they look cheap or junkie given the price?   or are they decent?   

I would appreciate any advice and help anyone could give me on this. or if you have any pics of the blue nomex suits, I would like to see them.  THANKS!

Eclipse

The utility jumpsuit is a nice, cheap alternative, but it won't wear well over time - if you use it a lot it will fade over time, especially
if you don't wash it properly.  It is also >very< thin, which I personally prefer, but may not be a good option for everyone.

Also, at least the one I bought by Rothco (about 7 years ago), had the velcro in the wrong places and I had to move it.

The Nomex flightsuit is a much richer, darker blue, will hold up better over time, but is obviously much more expensive,