NCO Insignia Placement on Winter Field Jacket

Started by AACScadet54, December 05, 2015, 08:45:24 AM

AACScadet54

Hello all,
So I'm soon to head off to staff the Kansas Wing Training Group winter encampment, which is bitterly cold. 
I graduated there as a basic last year, and I wore a M65 field jacket.  As a basic student, and a Cadet Senior Airman, I wasn't familiar with the regulations for insignia placement on a field jacket, so I just wore my wing patch, name tape, and CAP tape, and no one cared---because I was a basic and it wasn't a big deal to be missing insignia from outerwear.
This year I have a much higher position in the encampment, and I want to set a very good example with my uniform wear.  All that said, I am unclear about what CAPM 39-1 regulates for the wear of the M65 field jacket as far a NCO insignia is concerned.  The exact wording from the manual is:

"6.1.9.2.2. Cadet Rank Insignia. Cadet officers will wear regular or miniature
embroidered rank insignia on ultramarine background on the epaulet. Cadet NCOs and Airmen will wear
metal chevrons on the coat collar.
Cadet airmen basic wear no collar insignia." 

What I deduce from this is that NCO insignia will be worn on the field jacket collar in the same manner as they are worn on a BDU blouse, but my M65 field jacket obviously does not have the same type of collar as a BDU blouse.  On the collar there are button holes, velcro fasteners, and the hood compartment zipper. 
This would make it difficult to pin on NCO insignia, not to mention that the jacket is designed to be zipped all the way to the top in turtleneck fashion, and if NCO insignia were to be worn in the way describer above, they would be turned inside and the frogs (pin holders) exposed on the outside when the neck is zipped to the top. 
In the off chance my M65 isn't actually an M65, below is a link of what I have.  Note the collar is zipped all the way up. 
Any advice is greatly appreciated.