Main Menu

Arrests/Charges

Started by swhisman55, August 15, 2019, 07:17:40 PM

swhisman55

Im sure this has been asked before however I want to ask again as I am considering becoming a member.

I have in the past been charged/convicted with misdemeanor drug possession and served "bench probation" (ie i did not have a probation officer and I reported directly to the court). Since then I have really turned my life around and am even getting my sport pilot certificate. I am also an Embry Riddle graduate and have my bachelors degree in engineering. I have a professional career and live a very productive life (working on a startup company and as a software engineer). Should I even apply? Do any of my efforts as to how I've applied myself as a citizen after my offense count towards my application?

Thanks for your time.

TheSkyHornet

You're welcomed to apply. Just be prepared for it to come up.

If rejected, you can file for an appeal to National Headquarters.

The CAP Form 12 application sheet has a section on prior arrests/charges:
https://www.gocivilairpatrol.com/media/cms/F012_Fillable_Mar_17_052D10F8D1B5D.pdf
"Link on a separate sheet, all arrests or charges regardless of age or whether the record in your case has been sealed, expunged, or otherwise stricken from the court records."

So just include that information and be honest about it. Skip the anecdotes.

swhisman55

Thanks for the reply. I will give it a shot then and see what happens.

Fester

Just be honest on your application.  If necessary, include a letter about it.
1stLt, CAP
Squadron CC
Group CPO
Eaker - 1996

Flying Pig