Main Menu

Old Style Jackets

Started by cadetnelson, April 06, 2006, 10:37:43 PM

cadetnelson

Hi, I'm new to the CAP.  I've seen in the regulations on uniforms at cap.gov that they have introduced a new coat that looks more like a suit coat in stead of the older, more military looking coat.

My question is, "is a new cadet still allowed to order/wear an old style coat"?  I just think they fit/look better but didn't know if this was allowed.  Thanks.
C/Amn Nelson

Matt

Yes.  Cadets are allowed to wear the old-style service coat as long as their pants match in shade (color).  This being said, if you're looking to wear the old-style, more military looking, service coat, you'd need to find a pair of old-style pants.  The ones that come courtesy of the AF are new-style which matches the suit-looking service coat.
<a href=mailto:mkopp@ncr.cap.gov> Matthew Kopp</a>, Maj, CAP
Director of Information Technology
<a href=https://www.ncrcap.us.org> North Central Region</a>

cadetnelson

Thanks.  Does anyone know if they will eventually require the new service coat and make wearing the old style unauthorized?  Also, I didn't see the old coat available from Vanguard.  Am I looking over it or is there another location at which to order it?  Thank you again.
C/Amn Nelson

MIKE

Quote from: cadetnelson on April 08, 2006, 01:54:44 AM
Thanks.  Does anyone know if they will eventually require the new service coat and make wearing the old style unauthorized?  Also, I didn't see the old coat available from Vanguard.  Am I looking over it or is there another location at which to order it?  Thank you again.

The uniform will be phased out eventually.  You won't see the old style coats available from Vanguard... You can find them on ebay or other sources... in used condition obviously.

If you are gonna get one though, I'd recommend the new style.
Mike Johnston

BillB