quick and easy class idea's

Started by IceNine, June 19, 2007, 05:42:25 PM

IceNine

Once a month I get an hour and a half during meetings to teach an ES class.  I have been doing this for about 5 years now and I am starting to run out of interesting ideas and ways to keep the cadets interested any ideas?
"All of the true things that I am about to tell you are shameless lies"

Book of Bokonon
Chapter 4

floridacyclist

Just brainstorming, so don't flame too hard if you don't like an idea

Skywarn

Red Cross disaster training

Geocaching

MIMS (or whatever they call it these days or by the time you read this)
    basically, how to get your training documented

CERT

Whatever you taught 5 years ago...many of your cadets have never heard it

Bring in a lifeflight for LZ classes (our crews love this)

Geocaching w/o the GPS

Using your GPS to it's full potential

Bring on the Canines - invite your local K9 SAR team out to show their stuff

Work through the taskguides one or two tasks a night

Gene Floyd, Capt CAP
Wearer of many hats, master of none (but senior-rated in two)
www.tallahasseecap.org
www.rideforfatherhood.org

mikeylikey

Maybe some Communications?  I know it's nerdy.....guess I am a nerd.

How about instead of you teaching......ask for volunteers to go over what they know. 

I always liked manual compass work! 

Finally my favorite......find the oldest CAP member you know......bring him or her in and let them rant on about what ES and SAR was like in "their day".  Then get up and thank them for their service......and explain how modern technology has improved the ES field!  If you want to leave that last part out thats OK I guess!
What's up monkeys?

ZigZag911

Try hands on application of what you've been teaching...have a DFing contest in the parking lot (if you have a practice ELT), set up a compass course....inside you can throw first aid problems at them.

Flying Pig

Career night.