A Possible PCA Counter-argument

Started by RiverAux, March 11, 2007, 02:56:56 PM

RiverAux

As we all know there are a variety of theories floating around out there regarding the status of CAP under PCA, most of which we have discussed quite a bit.  I'd like to throw idea out there.  I'm no lawyer so could be way off base here.

Okay, the PCA prohibits the use of the Air Force in law enforcement.  CAP is acting as the Air Force Auxiliary when on an AFAM. 

Quoteยง 9442. Status as volunteer civilian auxiliary of the Air Force

(a) Volunteer Civilian Auxiliary.โ€” The Civil Air Patrol is a volunteer civilian auxiliary of the Air Force when the services of the Civil Air Patrol are used by any department or agency in any branch of the Federal Government.
(b) Use by Air Force.โ€”
(1) The Secretary of the Air Force may use the services of the Civil Air Patrol to fulfill the noncombat programs and missions of the Department of the Air Force.
(2) The Civil Air Patrol shall be deemed to be an instrumentality of the United States with respect to any act or omission of the Civil Air Patrol, including any member of the Civil Air Patrol, in carrying out a mission assigned by the Secretary of the Air Force.

The sentence in bold is usually interpreted to apply to liability associated with CAP missions.  But, could it be read more broadly that CAP is an instrument of the US government and NOT specifically of the Air Force when on an AFAM?  In other words, when on an AFAM and acting as the AF Auxiliary we are actually serving the US government in general but not the AF in particular?

If that interpretation were accurate, then we could be used for law enforcement (as approved in CAP regs, of course) since we are actually acting for the US government and not just for the AF, and of course the US government in general is not limited by PCA. 

Yes, this is obviously an attempt to find a technical loophole past PCA, but then again all the law is is a series of technical loopholes.