Main Menu

Struggles Joining CAP

Started by KWRFLL, February 11, 2011, 04:38:05 AM

KWRFLL

I recently decided to pursue joining the local CAP squadron near my home.  I have been looking for a way to give something back to my community and belong to something larger than myself.  As I read on line about CAP and being a USAF veteran, I thought this would be the perfect choice for me.

After contacting the Group commander I found the location of the local squadron and set off to attend the first meeting.  Upon arrival I greeted some gentlemen in the parking lot, none of which approached me.  I told them that I was interested in joining.  Unfortunately they said the meeting for seniors had been moved that night and that I could come back next week.

The next week I returned.  Once again I was not greeted by anyone.  No one questioned my presence in the building as cadets were forming for a promotion ceremony.  I walked right into the meeting and observed the entire ceremony without one person wondering who I was or why I was there.

I greeted the commander after the ceremony and told him that I a prospective member that had been in touch via email with him.  He simply told me to go to the senior meeting room and join the others.  I did just that where again, no one greeted me or questioned my presence.  I listened to an informative briefing about a temporary no fly zone, after which I learned who the personnel officer was for the squadron.  I approached the officer who was very cordial and informed.  He told me that he had no finger print cards with him that week, but asked the commander to bring some the following week.

Eager to learn and get started, I completed the Fundamentals course from the CAP website, and the FEMA IS-100,200,700 & 800 courses as well as 240.  This is as far as I could go without becoming a member.