Turning over ELTs to the Cops

Started by Flying Pig, May 31, 2008, 02:36:04 PM

Flying Pig

I was reading the post about the alerting system, and I thought......

The thing I don't get about ELT's being turned over to the Sheriff, is that many don't have any DF equipment, and 99% of our Deputies in my 900 man Dept wouldn't even know what an ELT is.  Not to mention how to find one or even what to do if they did find it.   

Prior to rejoining CAP, I was at work and we received a message on my computer in my patrol car put out department wide as a "Be on the Look out"  for an ELT going of in the vicinity of a local airport.  And the message was sent "Per LTC XXXX, Civil Air Patrol, Mission Incident Commander."   Does anyone work with an LE agency that can actually DF an ELT?  Other guys and the Sgt. knew I was a pilot and started sending me messages asking me what it was all about and what did an "ELT" look like.

We basically had a couple patrol units put in the Lat Long into our GPS's and we were reasonably able to determine it was on the airport.   About 5 hours later when our helicopter crew came on, they flew the area to make sure there wasn't a Cessna buried in the fields nearby.  That was the extent of our DF capabilities for a pretty modern department.  So I would say understanding your local Dept's DF'ing capabilities would be a good thing to know.

RiverAux

In my area some of the county emergency managers could give it a go with a regular radio receiver, but usually turning it over to the cops means that they might call the airport manager to take a look around. 

wuzafuzz

Much of the time the Sheriff has the legal responsibility for SAR in their county.  Having said that, I've never seen sworn personnel track ELT's.  Usually they delegated the task to the Sheriff's volunteer SAR team or the local airport staff.  CAP was a distant 3rd place.