Disaster Relief training pipeline

Started by resq1192, October 08, 2010, 08:27:06 PM

resq1192

Hi all,

I wanted to solicit some opinions on a project I've wanted to float to the Wing command staff.  Out my way, we do a decent amount of ES SAR training but "miss hte boat" when it comes to disaster relief training.  I'm also a Disaster Services instructor for the red cross.  I was planning on floating the idea of a "Disaster Relief training institute" to my bosses at RC and to the Wing Command staff. This would be  a wing-wide initiative to improve ES capabilities in regard to disaster responses not involving a downed aircraft/lost hiker, etc.  Any thoughts?
"LOAD UP!"

Eclipse

We "miss the boat" because in many cases the types of operations "missed" are outside out scope.

For example, we are not shelter managers, but for some reason people keep wanting us to get in that business.

What kinds of training are you talking about?

"That Others May Zoom"

Smithsonia

We have taken CERT (Civilian Emergency Response Teams (training)) and substituted this training for general CAP Disaster Relief. There is an additional advantage to this in that the CERT training is done by Counties, Disaster Management, EMS, and Fire Depts, so we get liaison alliances and brownie points too.

There is even an additional advantage for CERT. In many communities, due to ES cut backs, trainers are tough to come by. So CAP organizing the Federally mandated training looks good to every body. So even if you take it from one county, then propagate it into one of these hard pressed counties, the sheriff or county manager will love you. By the way - we haven't actually done this "instructing" portion but made the calculation. Some of our CERT guys are going to a "train the trainers" CERT weekend soon. I'll do the same later this winter.
With regards;
ED OBRIEN

RiverAux